Book(s) of the Month

 

Let's Not Do That Again: A Novel By Grant Ginder Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250243775
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - April 5th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
To Paradise: A Novel By Hanya Yanagihara Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385547932
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - January 11th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Ptown Journal By East End Books Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781958120002
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: East End Books Ptown - March 21st, 2022

Vigil Harbor: A Novel By Julia Glass Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781101870389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - May 3rd, 2022

Gilt By Jamie Brenner Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593087824
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 21st, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Three Junes By Julia Glass Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385721424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - April 22nd, 2003

This is one of my favorite books, re-read many times since 2002! A complex, sweeping family saga that takes you from Scotland, to Greece, Greenwich Village, the Hamptons... And I can definately identify with aspects  of the character of Fenno, the eldest; a wry, introspective gay man & bookseller. "In prose rich with compassion and wit, Three Junes paints a haunting portrait of love’s redemptive powers."  This is definately a book you should read, and one that you will fall in love with! - Jeff, Bookseller

From Publishers Weekly

"The artful construction of this seductive novel and the mature, compassionate wisdom permeating it would be impressive for a seasoned writer, but it's all the more remarkable in a debut. This narrative of the McLeod family during three vital summers is rich with implications about the bonds and stresses of kin and friendship, the ache of loneliness and the cautious tendrils of renewal blossoming in unexpected ways. Glass depicts the mysterious twists of fate and cosmic (but unobtrusive) coincidences that bring people together, and the self-doubts and lack of communication that can keep them apart, in three fluidly connected sections in which characters interact over a decade. These people are entirely at home in their beautifully detailed settings Greece, rural Scotland, Greenwich Village and the Hamptons and are fully dimensional in their moments of both frailty and grace. Paul McLeod, the reticent Scots widower introduced in the first section, is the father of Fenno, the central character of the middle section, who is a reserved, self-protective gay bookstore owner in Manhattan; both have dealings with the third section's searching young artist, Fern Olitsky, whose guilt in the wake of her husband's death leaves her longing for and fearful of beginning anew. Other characters are memorably individualistic: an acerbic music critic dying of AIDS, Fenno's emotionally elusive mother, his sibling twins and their wives, and his insouciant lover among them. In this dazzling portrait of family life, Glass establishes her literary credentials with ingenuity and panache. "


Staff Pick Badge
The Maytrees: A Novel By Annie Dillard Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061239540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - June 10th, 2008

A beautiful gem of a book. Set in lovely Provincetown. A book to read over and over again!


Staff Pick Badge
Liarmouth: A Feel-Bad Romance: A Novel By John Waters Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374185725
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 3rd, 2022

Metaphysical Animals: How Four Women Brought Philosophy Back to Life By Clare Mac Cumhaill, Rachael Wiseman Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385545709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - May 10th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches By Kate Scelsa Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062465030
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 31st, 2022

We're thrilled to offer friend Kate Scelsa's book for sale! We had a wonderful event with Kate a few years back when t heir book Fans of the Impossible Life was (an Indie Next pick) released. The new book is not to be missed!

A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem--from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft--or think that her life could be transformed by mysterious forces. After losing her best friend and first love, Chloe, Eleanor has spent the past year in a haze, vowing to stay away from anything resembling romance.

But when a handwritten guide to tarot arrives in the mail at the witchy souvenir store where Eleanor works, it seems to bring with it the message that magic is about to enter her life. Cynical Eleanor is quick to dismiss this promise, until real-life witch Pix shows up with an unusual invitation. Inspired by the magic and mystery of the tarot, Eleanor decides to open herself up to Pix and her coven of witches, and even to the possibility of a new romance.

But Eleanor's complicated history continues to haunt her. She will have to reckon with the old ghosts that threaten to destroy everything, even her chance at new love.

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches is a romantic coming-of-age about learning to make peace with the past in order to accept the beauty of the present.

 


New Books

Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance By Matthew Lopez Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Dune Shacks of Provincetown By Jane Paradise Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Liarmouth: A Feel-Bad Romance: A Novel By John Waters Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Out of the Clear Blue Sky By Kristan Higgins Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
All Down Darkness Wide: A Memoir By Seán Hewitt Cover Image
Vigil Harbor: A Novel By Julia Glass Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Hebridean Baker: Recipes and Wee Stories from the Scottish Islands By Coinneach MacLeod Cover Image
Bloomsbury Girls: A Novel By Natalie Jenner Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Tidal Flats By Cynthia Newberry Martin Cover Image
Just by Looking at Him: A Novel By Ryan O'Connell Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
What We Give, What We Take By Randi Triant Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Maryanne Amacher: Selected Writings and Interviews By Maryanne Amacher, Amy Cimini (Editor), Bill Dietz (Editor) Cover Image
Divine Messengers: The Untold Story of Bhutan's Female Shamans By Guyer-Stevens, Francoise Pommaret Cover Image
Pre-Order Now Badge
Musical Theatre for Dummies By Seth Rudetsky Cover Image
Young Mungo By Douglas Stuart Cover Image
Loving: A Photographic History of Men in Love 1850s-1950s By Hugh Nini, Neal Treadwell Cover Image
I Was Better Last Night: A Memoir By Harvey Fierstein Cover Image
Dot & Ralfie By Amy Hoffman Cover Image
The Babysitter: My Summers with a Serial Killer By Liza Rodman, Jennifer Jordan Cover Image
George Michael: A Life By James Gavin Cover Image
Mississippi Barking: Hurricane Katrina and a Life That Went to the Dogs By Chris McLaughlin Cover Image
Gilmore Girls: The Official Cookbook Gift Set By Elena Craig, Kristen Mulrooney Cover Image
Succulent Wild Woman (25th Anniversary Edition): Dancing with Your Wonder-full Self By SARK Cover Image
Six Walks: In the Footsteps of Henry David Thoreau By Ben Shattuck Cover Image
People Change By Vivek Shraya Cover Image
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out By Jeremy Atherton Lin Cover Image
Cuíer By Sarah Coolidge (Editor), Caio Fernando Abreu, Angélica Freitas Cover Image
Your Guide to Not Getting Murdered in a Quaint English Village By Maureen Johnson, Jay Cooper Cover Image
Sweat: A History of Exercise By Bill Hayes Cover Image
High-Risk Homosexual: A Memoir By Edgar Gomez Cover Image
Homespun: True Tales of Tweed By J. Joseph Pastrana Cover Image
Let the Record Show: A Political History of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993 By Sarah Schulman Cover Image
The Tender Bar: A Memoir By J. R. Moehringer Cover Image
Yonder: A Novel By Jabari Asim Cover Image
Later: My Life at the Edge of the World By Paul Lisicky Cover Image
Antiman: A Hybrid Memoir By Rajiv Mohabir Cover Image
Black Radical: The Life and Times of William Monroe Trotter By Kerri K. Greenidge Cover Image
The Heartbeat of Trees: Embracing Our Ancient Bond with Forests and Nature By Peter Wohlleben, Jane Billinghurst (Translator) Cover Image
Beautiful World, Where Are You: A Novel By Sally Rooney Cover Image
Iron Annie: A Novel By Luke Cassidy Cover Image
Morningside Heights: A Novel By Joshua Henkin Cover Image
The Window Seat: Notes from a Life in Motion By Aminatta Forna Cover Image
Something Wild: A Novel By Hanna Halperin Cover Image
Sparrow Envy: Field Guide to Birds and Lesser Beasts By J. Drew Lanham Cover Image
What We Carry: A Memoir By Maya Shanbhag Lang Cover Image
John Derian Sticker Book (John Derian Paper Goods) By John Derian Cover Image
Shoulder Season: A Novel By Christina Clancy Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
What We Give, What We Take By Randi Triant Cover Image
Own It: The Secret to Life By Diane von Furstenberg Cover Image
Stolen Focus: Why You Can't Pay Attention--and How to Think Deeply Again By Johann Hari Cover Image
Eye to Eye: Portraits of Lesbians By Jeb, Lori Lindsey (Afterword by), Lola Flash (Introduction by) Cover Image
Ulysses: An Illustrated Edition By James Joyce, Eduardo Arroyo (Illustrator) Cover Image