Confluence: Navigating the Personal & Political on Rivers of the New West (Paperback)

Confluence: Navigating the Personal & Political on Rivers of the New West By Zak Podmore Cover Image
$18.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"An introspective journey that strikes an exquisite, subtle balance between empirical realities and vigorous philosophical questioning."
--THE UTAH REVIEW

After losing his river-running mother to cancer, author and paddler Zak Podmore disappears into the American West's iconic canyon country to heal. What he finds is a wilderness infused with personal stories, as well as a landscape strained by political, environmental, and cultural tensions. A trip down the Rio Grande in Big Bend National Park leads to a confrontation with US immigration policy. While canoeing down a rare release of water in the Colorado River delta, Podmore questions the economic foundations of Western water management. He reports on uranium tailings near the San Juan River, dam removals on Washington's Elwha River, and a tourist development in the Grand Canyon. Moving and provocative, CONFLUENCE follows in the tradition of Thoreau or Edward Abbey -- it takes us into the wild but always has one eye turned back toward the blessings and ills of civilization.

About the Author


Zak Podmore is a Utah-based writer, film producer, and editor who covers conservation issues and Utah politics. He is a Report for America fellow at the Salt Lake Tribune, editor-at-large for Canoe & Kayak, and editor of the Canyon Echo: A Journal of Southeast Utah. He has written for Outside, Sierra, High Country News, Four Corners Free Press, High Desert Journal, and the Huffington Post. His films have been selected for the Wild & Scenic Film Festival, the Vancouver International Mountain Film Festival, and the Colorado Environmental Film Festival, and his magazine writing won a 2018 Folio Eddie Award.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781948814089
ISBN-10: 1948814080
Publisher: Torrey House Press
Publication Date: October 29th, 2019
Pages: 220
Language: English