Book(s) of the Month

 

Let's Not Do That Again: A Novel By Grant Ginder Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250243775
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - April 5th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
To Paradise: A Novel By Hanya Yanagihara Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385547932
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - January 11th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Ptown Journal By East End Books Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781958120002
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: East End Books Ptown - March 21st, 2022

Vigil Harbor: A Novel By Julia Glass Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781101870389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - May 3rd, 2022

Gilt By Jamie Brenner Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593087824
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 21st, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Three Junes By Julia Glass Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385721424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - April 22nd, 2003

This is one of my favorite books, re-read many times since 2002! A complex, sweeping family saga that takes you from Scotland, to Greece, Greenwich Village, the Hamptons... And I can definately identify with aspects  of the character of Fenno, the eldest; a wry, introspective gay man & bookseller. "In prose rich with compassion and wit, Three Junes paints a haunting portrait of love’s redemptive powers."  This is definately a book you should read, and one that you will fall in love with! - Jeff, Bookseller

From Publishers Weekly

"The artful construction of this seductive novel and the mature, compassionate wisdom permeating it would be impressive for a seasoned writer, but it's all the more remarkable in a debut. This narrative of the McLeod family during three vital summers is rich with implications about the bonds and stresses of kin and friendship, the ache of loneliness and the cautious tendrils of renewal blossoming in unexpected ways. Glass depicts the mysterious twists of fate and cosmic (but unobtrusive) coincidences that bring people together, and the self-doubts and lack of communication that can keep them apart, in three fluidly connected sections in which characters interact over a decade. These people are entirely at home in their beautifully detailed settings Greece, rural Scotland, Greenwich Village and the Hamptons and are fully dimensional in their moments of both frailty and grace. Paul McLeod, the reticent Scots widower introduced in the first section, is the father of Fenno, the central character of the middle section, who is a reserved, self-protective gay bookstore owner in Manhattan; both have dealings with the third section's searching young artist, Fern Olitsky, whose guilt in the wake of her husband's death leaves her longing for and fearful of beginning anew. Other characters are memorably individualistic: an acerbic music critic dying of AIDS, Fenno's emotionally elusive mother, his sibling twins and their wives, and his insouciant lover among them. In this dazzling portrait of family life, Glass establishes her literary credentials with ingenuity and panache. "


Staff Pick Badge
The Maytrees: A Novel By Annie Dillard Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061239540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - June 10th, 2008

A beautiful gem of a book. Set in lovely Provincetown. A book to read over and over again!


Staff Pick Badge
Liarmouth: A Feel-Bad Romance: A Novel By John Waters Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374185725
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 3rd, 2022

Metaphysical Animals: How Four Women Brought Philosophy Back to Life By Clare Mac Cumhaill, Rachael Wiseman Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780385545709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - May 10th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches By Kate Scelsa Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062465030
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 31st, 2022

We're thrilled to offer friend Kate Scelsa's book for sale! We had a wonderful event with Kate a few years back when t heir book Fans of the Impossible Life was (an Indie Next pick) released. The new book is not to be missed!

A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem--from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft--or think that her life could be transformed by mysterious forces. After losing her best friend and first love, Chloe, Eleanor has spent the past year in a haze, vowing to stay away from anything resembling romance.

But when a handwritten guide to tarot arrives in the mail at the witchy souvenir store where Eleanor works, it seems to bring with it the message that magic is about to enter her life. Cynical Eleanor is quick to dismiss this promise, until real-life witch Pix shows up with an unusual invitation. Inspired by the magic and mystery of the tarot, Eleanor decides to open herself up to Pix and her coven of witches, and even to the possibility of a new romance.

But Eleanor's complicated history continues to haunt her. She will have to reckon with the old ghosts that threaten to destroy everything, even her chance at new love.

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches is a romantic coming-of-age about learning to make peace with the past in order to accept the beauty of the present.