East End Books Ptown Presents: Natalie Jenner "The Jane Austen Society" & Jennifer Rosner "The Yellow Bird Sings" August 7th @6pm

East End Books Ptown is thrilled to present two dynamic authors with books you won't be able to put down! 

East End Books Ptown Presents: Natalie Jenner "The Jane Austen Society" & Jennifer Rosner "The Yellow Bird Sings" August 7th @6pm for a special virtual book event via Zoom and Facebook Live. Buy the books in Advance for signed copies.

Registration via Eventbrite is Required:https://www.eventbrite.com/e/natalie-jenner-the-jane-austen-society-jennifer-rosner-the-yellow-bird-tickets-111557028074

Zoom Link:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85486564888

Facebook Event Page: Let people know you're attending! : 

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--
 

Natalie Jenner was born in England, raised in Canada, and graduated from the University of Toronto with consecutive degrees in English Literature and Law. She worked for decades in the legal industry and also founded the independent bookstore Archetype Books in Oakville, Ontario, where she lives with her family and two rescue dogs. A lifelong devotee of all things Jane Austen, The Jane Austen Society is her first published novel.

 
The Yellow Bird Sings

The Yellow Bird Sings
“Music and love course through this beautiful novel, twin rivers of wonder. Jennifer Rosner has written a book that will break your heart, and then put it back together again, a little larger than before.”―Alex George, author of The Paris Hours.  It is wartime in German-occupied Poland. Róza and her 5-year-old daughter, Shira, flee their home, seeking shelter in a neighbor’s barn. Hidden in the hayloft day and night, Shira struggles to stay still and quiet, as music pulses through her and the farmyard outside beckons. To soothe her daughter and pass the time, Róza tells her a story about a girl in an enchanted garden:

The girl is forbidden from making a sound, so the yellow bird sings. He sings whatever the girl composes in her head: high-pitched trills of piccolo; low-throated growls of contrabassoon. Music helps the flowers bloom...
In this make-believe world, Róza can shield Shira from the horrors that surround them. But the day comes when their haven is no longer safe, and Róza must make an impossible choice: whether to keep Shira by her side or give her the chance to survive apart.
Inspired by the true stories of Jewish children hidden during World War II, Jennifer Rosner’s debut is a breathtaking novel about the unbreakable bond between a mother and a daughter. Beautiful and riveting, The Yellow Bird Sings is a testament to the triumph of hope―a whispered story, a bird’s song―in even the darkest of times"--

Jennifer Rosner is the author of If A Tree Falls: A Family's Quest to Hear and Be Heard, a memoir about raising her deaf daughters in a hearing, speaking world. Her children's book, The Mitten String, is a Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable. Jennifer's writing has appeared in the New York Times, The Massachusetts Review, The ForwardGood Housekeeping, and elsewhere. She lives in western Massachusetts with her family. The Yellow Bird Sings is her debut novel and is being published around the world

 
 
Event date: 
Friday, August 7, 2020 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Event address: 
389 Commercial St.
Provincetown, MA 02657
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250248732
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 26th, 2020

The Yellow Bird Sings: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250179760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - March 3rd, 2020